





Kansas Association of Chiefs of Police

Kansas Peace Officers = Association

Kansas Sheriffs = Association

KANSAS LAW ENFORCEMENT ASSOCIATIONS AWARD 2006 JOHN FOSTER MEMORIAL COLLEGE SCHOLARSHIP

As chairman of the John Foster Memorial College Scholarship Committee, and in behalf of the Kansas Peace Officers' Association (KPOA), the Kansas Sheriffs' Association (KSA) and the Kansas Association of Chiefs of Police (KACP), KBI Director Larry Welch announces that the committee will present a college scholarship check in the amount of \$3,000 to Jessica Ann Bezona, of Manter, Kansas, on Monday, July 31, at the Stanton County Sheriff's Office, at Johnson, Kansas, at 12:00 noon.

Jessica is the daughter of Stanton County Sheriff and Mrs. Ed Bezona, and a 2006 graduate of Stanton County High School, at Johnson. She will use her scholarship at Kansas State University, as an entering freshman this fall, seeking a degree in Business.

Director Welch explained that the John Foster Memorial College Scholarship is an annual award of \$3,000 presented by KPOA, KSA and KACP to a son or daughter of a Kansas law enforcement officer. Believed to be the largest law enforcement-related college scholarship in Kansas, the applicant must be a graduating Kansas high school senior and he, or she, must attend an accredited Kansas community college, college or university. There is no restriction on the course of study or major.

The scholarship is in honor of John Foster, who died of cancer in 2003, a member of all three of the contributing law enforcement associations. Foster was a long-time chief of police of Lenexa and was sheriff of Johnson County at the time of his death. He was a respected leader of Kansas law enforcement for more than 35 years.

Director Welch stated there were 34 candidates for the scholarship this year. He noted that lofty grade point averages, high class standings, impressive community service and exceptional high school and personal achievements were common among the candidates.

Jessica Bezona was one of seven finalists selected for interview by the John Foster Memorial College Scholarship Committee.

Committee members for 2006, in addition to Welch, were Chief of Police Sonny Ralston of St. John; Chief of Police Dick Heitschmidt of Hutchinson; Chief of Police Rex Taylor of Roeland Park; Sheriff John Fletcher of Russell County; and Sheriff Troy Thomson of Norton County.

July 25, 2006

Director Larry Welch Chairman, John Foster Memorial College Scholarship Committee Kansas Bureau of Investigation 1620 SW Tyler Topeka, KS 66612 785-296-8204