





Kansas Association of Chiefs of Police

Kansas Peace Officers Association

Kansas Sheriffs Association

KANSAS LAW ENFORCEMENT ASSOCIATIONS AWARD 2012 JOHN FOSTER MEMORIAL COLLEGE SCHOLARSHIP

As chairman of the John Foster Memorial College Scholarship Committee, and on behalf of the Kansas Peace Officers' Association (KPOA), the Kansas Sheriffs' Association (KSA) and the Kansas Association of Chiefs of Police (KACP), Sheriff John R. Fletcher announces that the committee will present a college scholarship check in the amount of \$3,000 to Katelyn K. Rogers, of Gridley, Kansas, on Monday, June 11, 2012, at 10:00 am at the Coffey County Sheriff's Office.

Katelyn is the daughter of Randy and Tasha Rogers, Randy is the Coffey County Sheriff. Katelyn is a 2012 graduate of Southern Coffey County High School at Leroy Kansas. She will use her scholarship at Allen Community College in Iola Kansas to pursue a degree in Elementary Education and Special Education.

Sheriff Fletcher explained that the John Foster Memorial College Scholarship is an annual award of \$3,000 presented by KPOA, KSA and KACP to a son or daughter of a Kansas law enforcement officer. Believed to be the largest law enforcement-related college scholarship in Kansas, the applicant must be a graduating Kansas high school senior and he, or she, must attend an accredited Kansas community college, college or university. There is no restriction on the course of study or major.

The scholarship is in honor of John Foster, who died of cancer in 2003, a member of all three of the contributing law enforcement associations. Foster was a long-time chief of police of Lenexa and was sheriff of Johnson County at the time of his death. He was a respected leader of Kansas law enforcement for more than 35 years.

Sheriff Fletcher stated there were 44 candidates for the scholarship this year. He noted that lofty grade point averages, high class standings, impressive community service and exceptional high school and personal achievements were common among the candidates.

Katelyn Rogers was one of seven finalists selected for interview by the John Foster Memorial College Scholarship Committee.

Committee members for 2012, in addition to Fletcher, Chief of Police Dick Heitschmidt of Hutchinson; Chief of Police Rex Taylor of Roeland Park; Retired Sheriff Gary Steed of Sedgwick County; Director Ed Pavey of the Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center and Diana Foster daughter of John Foster.

June 5, 2012

Sheriff John R. Fletcher
Chairman, John Foster Memorial College Scholarship Committee
Russell County Sheriff's Department
210 E. 4th
P.O. Box 825
Russell, Kansas 67665
785-483-2151