





Kansas Association of Chiefs of Police

Kansas Peace Officers Association

Kansas Sheriffs Association

## KANSAS LAW ENFORCEMENT ASSOCIATIONS AWARD 2011 JOHN FOSTER MEMORIAL COLLEGE SCHOLARSHIP

As chairman of the John Foster Memorial College Scholarship Committee, and on behalf of the Kansas Peace Officers' Association (KPOA), the Kansas Sheriffs' Association (KSA) and the Kansas Association of Chiefs of Police (KACP), Sheriff John R. Fletcher announces that the committee will present a college scholarship check in the amount of \$3,000 to Spencer R. Hoch, of Wichita, Kansas, on Friday, July 15, 2011, at 11:00 am In the Integrity Auditorium on the Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center Campus.

Spencer is the son of Brad and Sarah Hoch, Brad is employed by the Sedgwick County Sheriff's Office. Spencer is a 2011 graduate of Maize High School, at Maize, Kansas. He will use his scholarship at Friends University for a degree in Mathematics.

Sheriff Fletcher explained that the John Foster Memorial College Scholarship is an annual award of \$3,000 presented by KPOA, KSA and KACP to a son or daughter of a Kansas law enforcement officer. Believed to be the largest law enforcement-related college scholarship in Kansas, the applicant must be a graduating Kansas high school senior and he, or she, must attend an accredited Kansas community college, college or university. There is no restriction on the course of study or major.

The scholarship is in honor of John Foster, who died of cancer in 2003, a member of all three of the contributing law enforcement associations. Foster was a long-time chief of police of Lenexa and was sheriff of Johnson County at the time of his death. He was a respected leader of Kansas law enforcement for more than 35 years.

Sheriff Fletcher stated there were 27 candidates for the scholarship this year. He noted that lofty grade point averages, high class standings, impressive community service and exceptional high school and personal achievements were common among the candidates.

Spencer Hoch was one of seven finalists selected for interview by the John Foster Memorial College Scholarship Committee.

Committee members for 2011, in addition to Fletcher, were Chief of Police Sonny Ralston of St. John; Chief of Police Dick Heitschmidt of Hutchinson; Chief of Police Rex Taylor of Roeland Park; Retired Sheriff Gary Steed of Sedgwick County; Director Ed Pavey of the Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center and Diana Foster daughter of John Foster.

## July 5, 2011

Sheriff John R. Fletcher Chairman, John Foster Memorial College Scholarship Committee Russell County Sheriff's Department 210 E. 4<sup>th</sup> P.O. Box 825 Russell, Kansas 67665 785-483-2151